Movie Review: “Whiskey Tango Foxtrot”

Hi, readers. Well, I’m finally back home in my apartment, reconnected with my soulmate-my Wifi signal. This is my last day of spring break, and I decided to review the movie I saw this week, Whiskey Tango Foxtrot. Mostly spoiler free.

While I will tell you that this is a really good movie that I would suggest seeing, I have to confess that the movie makers have tricked you. They would have you believe this was a comedy, what with the name (WTF) and the fact that the headliners are Tina Fey, Queen of Contemporary Comedy, and Martin Freeman, who is just a very funny guy (and great actor besides, one of my favorites). While the movie is definitely funny, this is a gentle reminder that it is still a movie about the war on terror. I wouldn’t even go so far as to call it dark comedy. But it is very, very good.

The movie follows Kim Baker (Fey), an American foreign correspondent for television who is stuck in a rut both in her career and her relationship, and chooses to go to Afghanistan to report on the happenings there. There she befriends her fixer, Fahim; another foreign correspondent from Australia named Tanya, and endearingly sleazy freelance photographer Iain MacKelpie (Freeman). While struggling at first to adjust, Baker takes her new position well, taking risks to get good coverage. She does so well, that she becomes “addicted” to the danger of the lifestyle, and must overcome that in addition to struggling with the network she works for and working through her romantic entanglements. The movie is based on the memoirs of international journalist Kim Barker and her time overseas.

Like I said, this movie’s not the comedy you expected, but it is funny, and refreshingly and brutally honest. It’s got just the right amount of drama, humor, and tender moments. Again, it’s very honest, and stands out against a lot of other recent films. I would definitely rate this one 4.5 stars out of 5.

Also…Martin Freeman is scruffy and Scottish and delicious and sings drunk karaoke. Nuff said. ~TRL

Leave a Reply

