Coming Clean

First of all, I would like to say that I don’t like using this word free-wheelingly, and I think that too many people claim to be it just to sound cool. But I’ve come to a realization about myself: I am bisexual.

I use to say I was straight, but I honest to God don’t believe I am anymore. I mean, I still like guys-a lot-but boobs, man! But seriously, 40% of the people I’ve kissed are girls (and I enjoyed it immensely), and I find my mind opening to the prospect of being with a girl more and more each day. And like I said, I’m not a full out Lesbian, but, well…there are definite perks to both sexes.

The reason I don’t like the term “bisexual” is because it just has such a negative connotation. Most people think of bisexuals as sluts, and Hollywood’s portrayal of them hasn’t been all that positive. Maureen from Rent, or even Jack Harkness from Torchwood, are not good examples of bisexuals. Bisexual just means you like both men and women. Just because I find both genders attractive, doesn’t mean I take monogamy any less seriously.

I’m not posing, I’m not following a trend, and I’m not saying because I think it sounds cool. I’ve been thinking long and hard about this for awhile, and I have come to the conclusion that I am bisexual. And I don’t take that lightly. I hope I haven’t offended anyone, and I’m sorry if I have. But I know who I am, and I’m not ashamed of it.

One thought on “Coming Clean

  1. I completely agree with you. I was scared to come out because I thought of all the negativity that has been portrayed about being bisexual. I’ve come to terms with being bisexual and I’m happy. Admitting it to yourself is freeing (:

Leave a Reply

