My Favorite Childhood Cartoons

Lately, I’ve been having a splash of nostalgia, so I decided to write about the cartoons I grew up watching. (I’m a 90’s baby. It was pretty much the height of children’s television.)

The Powerpuff Girls was probably my first favorite TV show, except for Blues’ Clues (but that’s not exactly a cartoon), and it was definitely my introduction to superheroes. Without Bubbles, Buttercup, and especially Blossom, I would have never realized how kickass women can be. Unfortunately, it would set an unrealistic idea for me that superheroes were actually a real thing, and that as a kindergarten age girl, I could be one.

Blossom was my role model growing up. I mean, sure, I liked Bubbles because she was sweet and blonde like I was (no more), and I thought Buttercup was a bad ass bitch, but I wanted to be like Blossom most of all. Smart, a leader, and plus I loved that red bow. (Incidentally, it was probably Blossom who originally caused me to aspire to gingership.)

The Grim Adventures Of Billy And Mandy was an object of fascination for me when I got a little older, and I’m not sure why. Obviously, my favorite character was Mandy (Remember the episode Grim and Billy finally got her to smile and it triggered a Big Bang?), but I loved Nergal and Eris too.

Dexter’s Laboratory is another show I remember with fondness. What I want to know is, how the f**k did that little brainiac come from such dumbasses as his parents? Frankly though, DeeDee was smarter than anyone ever gave her credit for. Think about it. All those measures of security, and she still broke into Dexter’s lab every stinking episode.

Duck Dodgers might have been the precursor to my love for Doctor Who, what with all the space travel (yet somehow I’m not a Trekkie). I was never a huge fan of Looney Tunes, but I freaking loved this show. Daffy Duck as an “action hero” was hilarious.

I remember watching a lot of classic Spongebob, beause it came on right after Nick Jr. I still maintain that the new episodes will never beat the ones I watched.

It was really sad for me when House Of Mouse left the air, because I loved watching all those old Mickey Mouse cartoons, plus the idea of all my favorite Disney characters going to one place and just hanging was really awesome to me.

Catdog. I hardly need to explain why this one was on the list. One question though…

HOW THE F**K DID THEY POOP?

Justice League was my OTHER superhero show, after TPG retired to Boomerang. I freaking loved this show. My favorites were the Flash, Hawkgirl, and Green Lantern (even though as superheroes go, I’m a huge fan of Superman). I remember Martian Manhunter used to freak me out. (Incidentally, the Flash was voiced by Michael Rosenbaum, who would go on to portray Lex Luthor in what would be my favorite TV show as a preteen, Smallville, also a show based on DC Comics.)

And finally, Liberty’s Kids on PBS was my favorite show to watch on Sunday morning while my dad made pancakes. I loved the character of Sarah, because she was pretty and British and refined, but also didn’t take any sh*t from James or anyone. Plus, it interested me in American history. (Too bad that didn’t carry over into adolescence.)

Anyway, that’s all I got to say for now. Smell you all later! 😀

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Childhood Cartoons

  1. I loved the olden day cartoons, there was so much that was just right with them. In addition to your list I loved Ed Edd n Eddy, Mike, Lu & Og, 2 Stupid Dogs and Courage the Cowardly Dog. I must admit, there are some on your list that I have never watched, maybe its a South African thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

